Skip to main content
Skip to navigation

This site is archival. Please visit for up-to-date content.

MEDIA ADVISORY: MU Celebrates Student Leaders at 84th Annual Tap Day Ceremony

Story Contact(s):
Christian Basi,, 573-882-4430

WHAT: The University of Missouri will recognize student leaders at the 84th annual Tap Day ceremony where six honorary organizations – LSV, Mortar Board, Mystical Seven, Omicron Delta Kappa, QEBH and The Rollins Society – publicly “tap” new members.

New “taps” are chosen by current members based on exemplary academic performance, extracurricular activities, scholarship, leadership and service. Faculty and staff members also may be tapped for their contributions to the student experience at MU.

WHO: MU faculty and students will participate in the ceremony. Speakers will include:

  • Deputy Chancellor Mike Middleton
  • Provost Brian Foster
  • Vice Chancellor of Student Affairs Cathy Scroggs
  • Missouri Students Association President Eric Woods

WHERE: Jesse Auditorium, MU Campus

The doors to Jesse Auditorium will open to the public at 1:30pm and a reception will immediately follow the ceremony.

WHEN: 2 p.m., Friday, April 22

NOTE: The new members’ identities are secret and will not be revealed until the ceremony.