Skip to main content
Skip to navigation

This site is archival. Please visit for up-to-date content.

Seven to Receive the Prestigious Missouri Honor Medal

October 20th, 2009

Story Contact: ,

Contact: Suzette Heiman,, 573-529-0371

Columbia, Mo. (Oct. 15, 2009) — Six prominent media leaders and a pioneering online publication will receive one of the profession’s highest honors, the Missouri Honor Medal for Distinguished Service in Journalism, from the Missouri School of Journalism on Tuesday, Oct. 20.

The 2009 medalists will present a master class during the day and will receive their medals at an evening banquet at the Donald W. Reynolds Alumni Center on the University of Missouri campus. The reception will be held from 6-7 p.m.; the dinner begins at 7 p.m.

Mazhar Abbas, defender of press freedom, Pakistan  

  • Master Class: “Pakistan: A Case Study About Working in a Hostile Environment,” 3:30 – 4:45 p.m., Fisher Auditorium

Rance Crain, president, Crain Communications Inc.  

  • Master Class: “Marketing Myopia, Journalism’s Dirty Little Secret,” 9:30 – 10:45 a.m., Fred W. Smith Forum

Doug Crews, executive director, Missouri Press Association  

  • Master Class: “Confessions of a Newspaper Enthusiast,” 3:30 – 4:45 p.m., Middlebush Auditorium

Bill Eppridge, photojournalist 

  • Master Class: “Epic Poem: 50 Years in Photojournalism,” 2 – 3:15 p.m., Fred W. Smith Forum

Rod Gelatt, professor emeritus, Missouri School of Journalism  

  • Master Class: “What’s Your Plan for the Next 40 Years?,” 9:30 – 10:45 a.m., Tucker Forum

Deborah Howell, editor and ombudsman 

  • Master Class: “Journalism and the Spirit,” 9:30 – 10:45 a.m., Fisher Auditorium

Slate, a daily online magazine 

  • Master Class: David Plotz, editor, “The Enemy is Speed: How to Save Online Journalism from Itself,” 9:30 – 10:45 a.m., 100-A RJI

Medalists are selected by the faculty of the School on the basis of lifetime or superior achievement in journalism. The Missouri School of Journalism has awarded the Missouri Honor Medal for Distinguished Service in Journalism annually since 1930. More than 425 distinguished journalists, advertising and public relations practitioners, institutions and media organizations from around the world have received this prestigious award.

For more information about the 2009 honorees, or the banquet, please visit or contact Suzette Heiman, the School’s director of planning and communications,; cell, 573-529-0371.