Skip to main content
Skip to navigation

This site is archival. Please visit for up-to-date content.

MEDIA ADVISORY: MU Recognizes Student Achievement at Tap Day

April 23rd, 2010

Story Contact: Christian Basi, 573-882-4430,

WHAT: The University of Missouri will recognize student leaders and their academic and extracurricular achievements at the 83rd annual Tap Day ceremony. Six honorary organizations on campus will reveal their new members and “tap” them into the organization. Students are chosen based on their scholarship, leadership and service achievements. At times, faculty and staff are selected as “honorary taps” by the organizations. 

Speakers at the event include MU Chancellor Brady Deaton, Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs Cathy Scroggs, Vice Provost for Undergraduate Studies Jim Spain and Missouri Students Association President Tim Noce. 

WHO: New members of the honorary organizations, chosen by current members, are kept secret until the Tap Day ceremony. The six organizations that participate on campus are LSV, Mystical Seven, Omicron Delta Kappa, QEBH, Mortar Board and the Rollins Society.

WHERE: Francis Quadrangle, MU Campus             

WHEN: 2 p.m., Friday, April 23 

NOTE: This event is free and open to the public. The ceremony will be followed by a small refreshment reception.