Skip to main content
Skip to navigation

This site is archival. Please visit for up-to-date content.

Statement from University of Missouri Leaders Regarding Charlottesville Tragedy

August 14th, 2017

Story Contact: Christian Basi, 573-882-4430,

COLUMBIA, Mo. — We are saddened and angered by the tragedy in Charlottesville, Virginia, this past weekend. As leaders in higher education, we share a common bond with the University of Virginia community. The University of Missouri condemns all acts of violence and racism, including those associated with ideologies of hate such as white supremacy and anti-Semitism. They have no place on our campus or in society. We affirm our commitment to our university’s core values of Respect, Responsibility, Discovery and Excellence.

We want to make it clear that we are committed to an inclusive environment. Your safety and success on this campus, in whatever you do, is important to us.


Alexander Cartwright, Chancellor

Garnett S. Stokes, Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs

Gary Allen, UM Vice President Information Technology and MU Chief Information Officer

Jonathan Curtright, Chief Executive Officer and Chief Operating Officer for MU Health Care

Ellen Eardley, Assistant Vice Chancellor for Civil Rights and Title IX

Rhonda Gibler, Vice Chancellor for Finance and Chief Financial Officer

Patty Haberberger, Vice Chancellor for Human Resources

Suzette Heiman, Interim Executive Director of Strategic Communications and Marketing

Tom Hiles, Vice Chancellor for Advancement and Alumni Relations

Christine Holt, Associate Provost

Todd McCubbin, Executive Director of the Mizzou Alumni Association

Kevin G. McDonald, UM Chief Diversity Officer and MU Vice Chancellor for Inclusion, Diversity and Equity

Mark McIntosh, UM Vice President and MU Vice Chancellor of Research, Graduate Studies and Economic Development

Pelema Morrice, Vice Provost of Enrollment Management

Marty Oetting, Interim Chief of Staff

James Scott, Interim Vice Provost for International Programs

Jim Sterk, Director of Athletics

Marshall Stewart, Vice Chancellor for Extension and Engagement

Gary Ward, Vice Chancellor for Operations and Interim Vice Chancellor of Student Affairs


Kathryn B. Chval, Dean of the College of Education

Patrice Delafontaine, Dean of School of Medicine

Christopher R. Daubert, Vice Chancellor and Dean of the College of Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources

Kristofer Hagglund, Dean of School of Health Professions

Carolyn Henry, Interim Dean of the College of Veterinary Medicine

David Kurpius, Dean of School of Journalism

Lyrissa Lidsky, Dean of School of Law

Elizabeth Loboa, Dean of College of Engineering

Judith Miller, Dean of School of Nursing

Pat Okker, Interim Dean of College of Arts and Science

James S. Rikoon, Dean of College of Human Environmental Sciences

Ajay Vinzé, Dean of College of Business

Bart Wechsler, Dean of Truman School of Public Affairs


Ann Campion Riley, Vice Provost for Libraries and University Librarian

Jeni Hart, Associate Vice Chancellor for Graduate Studies

Leona Rubin, Associate Vice Chancellor for Graduate Studies

Jim Spain, Vice Provost for Undergraduate Studies
Mardy Eimers, Vice Provost for Institutional Research and Quality Improvement


Alex Howe, President, Graduate Professional Council

Chrissy Kintner, Chair, MU Staff Advisory Council

William Wiebold, Chair, MU Faculty Council

Nathan Willett, President, Missouri Students Association