Skip to main content
Skip to navigation

This site is archival. Please visit for up-to-date content.

MEDIA ADVISORY: MU professors to be honored with final three 2018 Kemper Fellowships

$10,000 prizes to be awarded to three elite MU teachers

Story Contact(s):
Austin Fitzgerald,, 573-882-6217

WHAT: The final three 2018 William T. Kemper Fellowships for Teaching Excellence, which each include a $10,000 cash award, will be given to outstanding teachers at the University of Missouri Thursday. Chancellor Alexander Cartwright and Commerce Bank Chairman and CEO Teresa Maledy will surprise the teachers during class.

WHO: Three outstanding MU faculty members.


Friday, March 23 10:25 – 11:45 a.m.

Media should meet in front of the chancellor’s office, Room 105 in Jesse Hall, for the Kemper Fellowship presentations.

The award is a surprise to the recipients; therefore, the classroom locations will not be revealed until immediately prior to the presentation.

NOTE: The William T. Kemper Fellowships for Teaching Excellence were created in 1991 with a $500,000 gift to honor outstanding MU teachers. Commerce Bank manages the trust fund.

Kemper, a 1926 graduate of MU, was a well-known civic leader in Kansas City until his death in 1989. His 52-year career in banking included top positions in banks in Missouri, Kansas and Oklahoma.